If I cancel a subscription on 30 June 2017 do I need to give a month’s notice?
You have until 11:59 pm on 30 June 2017 to cancel without giving notice.
What will happen if I cancel a subscription on or after 1 July 2017?
The subscription will go into a “pending cancellation” state for a month, but you’ll still be able to access the subscription during that time. For example, let’s say you cancel on 10 July, the subscription will end on 10 August.
What happens if I cancel and then change my mind during the notice period?
No worries. Simply stop the cancellation process and you’re back with Xero. If it’s been longer than a month and the notice has expired, you will need to reactivate the subscription by contacting Xero support.
Will I still be able to access Xero during the notice period?
Of course. You’ll have access to Xero right up until the notice period expires.
Will I get charged for the notice period?
Yes, you’ll be charged up until the end of the notice period. Remember, you’ll still have access to the subscription during that time.
Credit card payments
How do I work out when payment will be taken?
To keep things really clear, the invoice due date will be clearly shown in the email you receive with the subscription invoice.
I thought there was a restriction on taking payment on the same day as an invoice?
Direct debit rules restrict payment from being taken until 10 days following issue of an invoice. However, this restriction does not apply to credit card payments.
Billing in advance
What does billing in advance mean? What is it?
Currently, when a customer signs up to Xero, we don’t send them an invoice until they have used Xero for a month. From 1 August 2017, all new customers who subscribe directly to Xero and have never paid Xero directly for a subscription in the past will be billed for their first month when they first sign up.
Will my clients’ subscriptions change to billing in advance?
We are only implementing billing in advance for new customers and partners who sign up on or after 1 August 2017 and who have never paid Xero for a subscription in the past. If you pay for your clients’ subscription and any new subscriptions, we will continue to take payment from you for the month gone by.
Is it possible I will have some of my clients billed for the month gone by and some billed in advance?
If you’ve paid Xero for subscriptions before the 1st of August, all of the clients you pay for will be billed for the month gone by and no clients will be billed in advance.
I am an existing Xero partner but I don’t have any subscriptions, how does the move to billing in advance affect me?
If you’ve had no subscriptions with Xero in the past, then any subscriptions you add and are paying for on or after 1 August 2017 will be billed in advance.
If my client is paying Xero in advance, what happens if they upgrade their subscription?
If they are being billed in advance, we won’t start charging them for the cost of the new subscription until their next billing anniversary.
What happens if my client has paid in advance and they downgrade part way through the month?
If your client has paid in advance and they downgrade part way through a monthly period, the system will warn them that they have prepaid for the monthly period and give them the choice of downgrading immediately or waiting until the end of the monthly period and downgrading then. If they choose to downgrade before the end of the prepaid monthly period, they won't receive a credit for the remaining prepaid monthly period.
What is the cut-off time for transferring a client subscription to Xero billing?
There is no cut-off time. However, any transfers accepted by your clients until midnight on 31 July 2017 will continue to be billed for the month gone by, and any transfers accepted by your clients from 12:01 am on 1 August 2017 will move to billing in advance – assuming they have never paid Xero directly for a subscription in the past. If they have, then they will continue to be billed for the month gone by.
Can you contact my client directly about these changes?
We can only contact your clients if they hold the subscription. This means if you’re the subscriber for their organization and they will be affected by the changes, you’ll need to notify them.