Changes to payment terms: FAQs
Here are answers to frequently asked questions about changes to payment terms.
If I cancel on 30 June 2017 do I need to give a month’s notice?
You have until 11:59 pm on 30 June 2017 to cancel without giving notice.
What will happen if I cancel on or after 1 July 2017?
Your subscription will go into a “pending cancellation” state for a month, but you’ll still be able to access your subscription during that time. For example, let’s say you cancel on 10 July, your subscription will end on 10 August.
What happens if I cancel and then change my mind during the notice period?
No worries. Simply stop the cancellation process and you’re back with Xero. If it’s been longer than a month and your notice has expired, you will need to reactivate your subscription by contacting Xero support.
Will I still be able to access Xero during the notice period?
Of course. You’ll have access to Xero right up until the notice period expires.
Will I get charged for the notice period?
Yes, you’ll be charged until the end of the notice period. Remember, you’ll still have access to your subscription during that time.
Credit card payments
How do I work out when my payment will be taken?
To keep things really clear, your invoice due date will be clearly shown in the email you receive with your subscription invoice.
I thought there was a restriction on taking payment on the same day as an invoice?
Direct debit rules restrict payment from being taken until 10 days following issue of an invoice; however, this restriction does not apply to credit card payments.
Billing in advance
What does billing in advance mean? What is it?
Currently, when someone signs up to Xero, we don’t send them an invoice until they have used Xero for a month. From 1 August 2017, all new customers who subscribe directly to Xero and have never paid Xero directly for a subscription in the past will be billed for their first month when they first sign up.
How does it work when paying for payroll (in NZ and UK) or UK bank feeds?
The fixed monthly subscription will be charged in advance, but any usage charges will be charged for the month used.